Black Magic technique with apples card

Hello again my crafty friends! This week’s theme at Shopping Our Stash Challenge #271 is Apples for Teacher/Use fruits or vegetables so I decided to finally try out this new to me technique! I have been waiting for the perfect opportunity to break out the clear embossing powder and Black Soot Distress ink! So, here is my Design Team card and under it I’ll tell you how I did it!

sos271-apples

I wish you could see this card in real life! It looks good enough to eat! To do this you need a stamp with a solid image to fill in the open area or you need to mask off your image in order to cover it with Versamark ink. I chose a stamp set from Stamps of Life that has an outline of the apple and a solid inside. First, I stamped the outline in a black ink on white paper and used the matching die to cut out a few masks of the apple. I placed the outer portion of the mask around the apple and sponged the apples with Distress Inks in Candied Apple, Twisted Citron and Mustard Seed and used a new mask with each color so they wouldn’t mix then I stamped over the ink with the solid stamp and Versamark ink and heat embossed it with clear embossing powder. My Versamark pad wasn’t very juicy so it left some pit marks on the apples but once I was done, I liked the way it looked with them so I didn’t start over! Once the card cooled down, I sponged Black Soot Distress Ink over everything and then took a paper towel and buffed off the excess on the apples! Magic! The clear embossing powder resists the black ink and keeps the apples red, yellow and green! The black ink just makes those apples pop! Then I heat embossed a phrase on vellum and assembled the card!

6 thoughts on “Black Magic technique with apples card

  1. Cyndi, those apples totally look good enough to eat, you capture their colors perfectly. I’ve seen the emboss resist technique a few times but never tried it and now, you inspired me to do it.
    I love the deep black color you sponged, it looks so even, at first glance I thought you stamped the apples onto black card stock, just fabulous.
    I like how you did your sentiment in vellum so we can still see the images through.
    Beautiful card.
    XO
    Maria.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.